Everyone is so self-centered(including myself)

I have noticed that in this world everyone only thinks about themselves and nothing else. I also noticed that I am also as self centered as most people. Although I am very self centered I have started to notice myself and think more about other people, especially in conversations. If you talk about other people and engage in their conversations more they will seem to like you more and ask you questions about your life.

When you think about other people and what they would want to do or what they would benefit from, than they are nicer and more considering to what you would like to do. We don't always have to have a grudge on someone. The nicer you are to other people the nicer they will be to you.

If you only think about yourself and no one else than you might benefit from the situation now but later the other person won't be as considering to you. Have you ever heard the saying "you get what you give" well it holds to be true, but first you have to incorporate it into your life.

Being nice to people is contagious. When you are optimistic and enlighten the situation, then other people feel enlightened and more optimistic.

One thing that I am not saying is that you shouldn't even think about yourself. You still need to improve yourself and find happiness in what you do, but sometimes you should also think about other people so that everyone is happy. If you don't think about yourself at all then you will never improve yourself.

If you want to read more about this topic I would advise to read the book "How to win friends and influence people." By Dale Carnegie. I know that I am going to reread it soon and refresh my mind about some of the topics in the book.

Colin wright also has some great articles on this type of stuff.