Stop trying to prove yourself

Nowadays it seems like everyone is always trying to prove themselves. I always try to prove myself also. But, recently I was in a situation when someone was kind and thoughtful which made me kind back to them. It made me think that proving yourself never works. It just makes one person mad and never ends well. So wouldn't it be better to talk it out or just forget about it and think about the bigger picture.

I recently read a book in which it stated that you can't win an argument. Other people don't want to change their opinion. This is the same thing when people try to prove themselves. They just can't win the argument. It's a lose/lose situation. If you can be kind and appreciative and not always try to prove yourself then you can more often than not, end up in a win/win situation. Both people will be happy. Isn't that what everyone wants in life after all, HAPPINESS.